Uncategorized

Verbal ticks

Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?

 

The one phrase that I use constantly, which I’ve noticed is starting to annoy a lot of people is ‘are you having a laugh?’ Especially when people talk about high prices or bad events that have happened. Sometimes it sounds like I’m taking the mick, but I’m not and that’s just my immediate response to a lot of things.

My boyfriend also constantly says ‘don’t say that!” Which bugs me. Like if I say I feel emotional today, like something bad is going to happen or I’m nervous about something, that’s the response I usually get. He says it in a reassuring, calm way though. I’ve started saying it too now! So we’re going to be a right annoying pair, when he starts saying ‘are you having a laugh?’ constantly!

Link

3 thoughts on “Verbal ticks

Leave a Reply

