animals

Gran Canaria stray cats.

When I went to Gran Canaria, there were four stray cats that would wander around the apartments.

IMGP4809I’m not sure whether this cat was male or female, but I named them Percy. Percy was friendly and you could go up to Percy and stroke it, but they wouldn’t walk over to you. Percy clearly had been groomed well, so not sure if it was genuinely a stray or just a cat that liked to wander around the apartments.

IMGP4810I only saw this cat once and not sure about the gender.

IMGP4811This was a little female kitten that I named Speckles. She was very skinny and lived off insects. It took a while to win her trust. On the first night she ran away from me and then the second she let me stroke her once, before running. I soon won her trust over though, when I gave her a slice of ham. She was sat on my lap purring and would sit outside my apartment door meowing. She must have only been about 10 weeks old.

IMGP4960I will miss Smokey lots. She always looked out for the kitten and I noticed that they were never far from each other. I’m not sure if she is the mother of Speckles, or just a friend. Smokey was the most approachable of all of the cats and after feeding her some turkey, she would sit on my lap purring and kneading me. One night I saw her being kicked by a little boy and I ran between them and saved her. Some people in this world are disgusting and I hope she’s doing okay now.

Standard

11 thoughts on “Gran Canaria stray cats.

Leave a Reply

