life

My nan – the fighter

My nan has now been in hospital for 2/3 weeks after having what we believed to be a stroke, but turned out to be a fit. After running tests on her, they showed my dad a scan of her brain, which half of is shadowed by some sort of lump. They can’t run tests to see if it’s cancer or not as it’s too deep and they don’t want to put her to sleep for fear of her not waking back up. On Saturday I received a call off my dad asking if I wanted to go with him to the hospital as the doctors called him in urgently. They needed to drain her lungs and the next twelve hours were crucial. I decided not to go, so Dad went alone. She survived and outlived the 12 hours, despite no one believing she would. Today I received the urgent phone call again from Dad telling me I needed to get to the hospital to say goodbye. I got there and she couldn’t see anything, her left side seems to be paralysed, can’t talk and trouble breathing. The family crowded round to say goodbye and were there hours but nothing happened. Doctors decided to do some tests on her and turned out that her breathing etc had improved once again! She even managed to say hello to my mum when she walked into the ward. She doesn’t have long left, lumps are coming up daily and the lump in her brain is really affecting her but so far she’s proved to be a fighter and although she likely doesn’t have more than a few days left, we know that she held on as long as she could.

Standard

Leave a Reply

